I’m a Tomboy…Mommy

Happy New Year to all!

It has been just over a year since I started The Tomboy Mommy, and in that year I have written about issues unique to being a tomboy and a mommy, fitness, and just general musing on parenthood, tomboy or otherwise.  I have taken a hiatus since October as I finished my book, and now that I’m letting that marinate in my mind before I begin the final polish, I can get back to blogging.

It’s been a curious affair, this blog.  I’ve found that there are a lot of people concerned about tomboys, as if we may or may not be a plague on society.  Oddly, I have gotten many queries through search engines as to the prudence of marrying or dating a tomboy.  I’m baffled by this particular concern, but I wrote about it in response, which you can find here at, Marrying a Tomboy.

Another concern that pops up through search engines is the case of tomboys and breasts.  I have to admit, I had some hesitation about their development myself, but found aside from Breasting Feeding and Sports, they have hindered me little in my pursuit of an active lifestyle.

There have also been people who have found their way to my blog because they were concerned about raising a tomboy.  I wrote about this in, How to Raise a Tomboy. My mother seemed to have a harder time with this than my father, but I was the second of five girls, so, my being a tomboy gave my dad someone to do boy stuff with.  My mom wondered whether I was gay, which is a fair assumption.  I didn’t realize at the time, but she provided me gay role models and started conversations like, “When you find your husband…or life partner.”.  She made me wear a dress to school at least once a week, but gave up on it when I cried hysterically all day at school.  We worked out a system and other than having to come out as straight at thanksgiving one year in my twenties, things were great.

It’s hard to not make parts of this blog about being gay as a tomboy. Though I am not, some of by best friends are (and they were as convinced as my mother that I was), and it is a concern that I think those raising tomboys have.  This year I will include guest posts from tomboys who are gay, because though I am an honorary lesbian, I am not actually, and cannot address such important and sensitive education on my own.

I called this blog, The Tomboy Mommy, simply because I am a mommy that’s a tomboy.  I have found though that there is an opportunity to help others figure out what that means for them and those they care about that may be tomboys.  I think the greatest challenge to a tomboy is just being accepted for who we are- pony tail, abrasions and all.

Please share my blog and help me reach more of those that need to know that there is a place where we can be tomboy children, tomboy grown-ups, tomboy spouses and tomboy mommies- and, we can do it all with a sense of humor.

2 thoughts on “I’m a Tomboy…Mommy

  1. I have missed your blog! Glad you have returned! I think I relate in that on the inside I’m über “I can do it all myself and don’t need a man!” and I think that makes me tomboy-ish. I wish I were a badass and could say I was trained in MMA but I am the person who trips walking on level ground. So I just stick with my badass attitude…ish. I’m probably not all. Anyway, glad you’re back so I can envy your badassery!

Leave a comment